The International Academy of Systems and Cybernetic Sciences (IASCYS)

IFSR Newsletter 2010 Vol. 27 No. 1 June
The International Academy of Systems and Cybernetic Sciences (FIASCOS) is a body of activity of the International Federation for Systems Research (IFSR) that fill the gap resulting from the failure of national and international academies of sciences and arts or learned societies (in British naming of the kind of organizations) to include systems and cybernetic sciences in their list of sciences and arts in order to have their outstanding members honored and activated as members of academies of sciences and arts. While the traditional disciplines of science focus on their selected parts of the given reality of life and consider them from their more or less narrowly selected viewpoints, the systems and cybernetics theories and practices deal with a worldview of holism and therefore tend to help humans cover the left-aside empty spaces between the spaces covered by individual traditional sciences, mostly by enabling their interdisciplinary creative cooperation leading to insight into synergies and mastering of such processes. In this way, systems and cybernetics tend to cover attributes of the given reality of life that the traditional sciences fail to cover. Thus, the otherwise resulting oversights tend to be replaced by new insights. This effort and its success tend to help humans as individuals, their organizations of any kind, and the entire humankind to attain more or even requisite holism of monitoring, perception, thinking, emotional and spiritual life, decision making, and action, and therefore to attain more success and well being.
On April 7, 2010 the General Assembly of the IFSR approved the Constitution of the IASCYS (subject to some editorial amendments), the criteria for membership and the first Executive Committee of the IASCYS.
The officers of the IASCYS are:

  • Matjaz MULEJ- IASCYS President
  • Jifa GU – IASCYS Vice-president
  • Ranulph GLANVILLE – IASCYS Vice-president
  • Jennifer WILBY – IASCYS Secretary General

The first members of the IASCYS are:

  • Matjaz MULEJ- IASCYS EC President
  • Jifa GU – IASCYS EC Vice-president
  • Ranulph GLANVILLE – IASCYS EC Vice-president
  • Pierre BRICAGE
  • Guangya CHEN
  • Charles FRANCOIS
  • Enrique HERRSCHER
  • Kyoichi J. KIJIMA
  • Yoshiteru NAKAMORI
  • Robert VALLEE
  • Shouyang WANG
  • Andrzej WIERZBICKI
  • Jiuping XU
  • Jennifer WILBY – IASCYS Secretary General

More details can be found on the homepage of the IFSR.

| Category: IASCYS