International Academy of Systems and Cybernetic Sciences: Report of the first tw …

IFSR Newsletter 2012 Vol. 29 No. 1 September:
On April 7, 2010 the General Assembly of the IFSR approved the founding of the International Academy of Systems and Cybernetic Sciences (IASCYS). During the two years of its existence the IASCYS has followed its major aims to create a worldwide frame-work linking both with other systemics and cybernetics organizations and with prominent individuals.
In 2011 and 2012 several meetings (Brussels in 2011, Vienna in 2012) were with the participation of representatives of IASCYS (Matjaž Mulej, Pierre Bricage), IFSR (Gerhard Chroust, Secretary General of IFSR, UES-EUS (Andrée Piecq, Secretary General of the UES/EUS and WOSC (Raul Espejo, Director General of The World Organization of Systems and Cybernetics). In November 2011, in Brussels, at the International Congress of the European Union for Systemics (EUS-UES), during its International Workshop ( the IASCYS has made a link between the systemics and cybernetics federations: the IFSR, the EUS-UES and the WOSC, These meetings resulted in an agreement for a closer cooperation and an opening of the Academy to members of all associations and federations working in the field of systems and cybernetics and their applications.
The IASCYS became involved in the von Bertalanffy Award for young talented systemicians & cyberneticians, given at the PhD day of the EMCSR (
The IASCYS was a sponsor of the 2012 EMCSR and the sponsor of the next IEEE conference in Morocco (Africa)
One of the services of the Academy was to establish links between the Academicians and other associations or renowned people by announcing and promoting the calls for papers of 38 international Meetings throughout the world.
The central research topic of IASCYS in this 2 years phase was “Social responsibility as informal systemic behaviour“. The project was not financed, but anyway, under the leadership of Matjaž MULEJ, it was done! It was linking systemic behaviour with the new definition of social responsibility provided by UNO, ISO and EU as well as by groups of enterprises. The most visible postulates are provided in ISO 26000 Standard on social responsibility that defines 7 principles, 7 main topics, and 7 steps of procedure. It links them with 2 crucial notions from systems theory: (1) interdependence, and (2) holistic approach.
On this basis, IASCSY cosponsored 2 international conferences (with no financial obligations, duties or profits), arranged by IRDO, the Institute for development of social responsibility in Maribor, Slovenia, in March 2011 and March 2012, under the honorary auspices of the President of Slovenia Prof. Dr. Danilo Türk. Matjaž Mulej and Pierre Bricage contributed papers, Matjaž Mulej was vice-chairperson in 2011 and chairperson in 2012.
On the same topics Matjaž Mulej was an active participant, (co-)author and speaker at international meetings and student conferences (in Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Croatia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Poland, Russia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey, UK, USA). He also worked on special editions of SPAR and JSRBS journals and is preparing a book with Betham Publishers.
During two years it became necessary to make certain amendments to the statutes of the IASCYS, as shown on IASCYS homepage. The changes related to IASCYS relation to systems societies outside of the IFSR, and improvement and clarification of the rules and procedures for appointing members. With respect to its aims the new formulation of its mission is:
The International Academy for Systems and Cybernetic Sciences (IASCYS) is supposed to be a body of activity shared by the International Federation for Systems Research (IFSR) and other systems & cybernetics organisations. IASCYS aiming at honouring and activating outstanding members of IFSR member-associations and other systems & cybernetics organizations.
Financing the activities of the IASCYS activities is still an open issue.
Unfortunately, President Matjaž Mulej suddenly was forced to step down from the Presidency due to family reasons. Using an internet emergency procedure to organize a meeting of the IASCYS General Assembly, Robert Trappl, accepted to be the successor of Matjaž under the condition that Matjaž Mulej remains as a Vice-President. Robert Trappl was elected as the new President and agreed to run the IASCYS together with the Executive Committee consisting now of 4 vice presidents.

New IASCYS Executive Committee (Vienna, Austria, 2012), IFSR Newsletter 2012 Vol. 29 No. 1 September

New IASCYS Executive Committee (Vienna, Austria, 2012), IFSR Newsletter 2012 Vol. 29 No. 1 September

With deep regret we have to report the passing away of one of our members: Ernst von Glasersfeld, who passed away in November 2010.
The current members of the IASCYS are:

  1. Mary Catherine BATESON (America) Cultural Anthropologist, Cybernetics
  2. Ockert J. H. BOSCH (Australia) Quantitative Ecology & Vegetation Management
  3. Pierre BRICAGE (France) Biologist, Secretary General
  4. Pille BUNNELL (Canada) Systems Ecologist
  5. Guangya CHEN (China) Operations Research & Systems Engineering
  6. Gerhard CHROUST (Austria) Systems Engineering & Automation
  7. Charles FRANÇOIS (Belgium) Cybernetics, Systems Theory & Systems Science
  8. Ranulph GLANVILLE (Britain) Cybernetics & Design, Vice-President
  9. Jifa GU (China) Operations Research & Systems Engineering, Vice-President
  10. Enrique HERRSCHER (Argentina) Economist & Systems Scientist
  11. Wolfgang HOFKIRCHNER (Austria) Information Science, Internet & Society
  12. Michael C. JACKSON (Britain) Management System, System Scientist
  13. Louis H. KAUFFMAN (America) Mathematician, Cybernetics
  14. Kyoichi J. KIJIMA (Japan) Decision Theory
  15. Ervin LASZLO (Italia) System’s Philosopher
  16. Humberto MATURANA (Chile) Neuroscience & Second Order Cybernetics
  17. Edgar MORIN (France) Philosopher & Sociologist
  18. Matjaž MULEJ (Slovenia) Systems Science & Innovation Theory, Vice-President
  19. Yoshiteru NAKAMORI (Japan) Systems & Knowledge Science
  20. Laurence D. RICHARDS (America) Operations Research & Engineering Management
  21. Bernard SCOTT (Britain) Educational Psychologist & Cybernetician
  22. George SOROS (Hungary) Investor & Social System Analyst
  23. Robert TRAPPL (Austria) Artificial Intelligence & Medical Cybernetician, President
  24. Stuart UMPLEBY (America) Systems & Cybernetics
  25. Robert VALLÉE (France) Cybernetist & Mathematician
  26. Ernst Von GLASERSFELD (America) Philosopher & Cybernetician
  27. Shouyang WANG (China) Operations Research & Systems Engineering
  28. Andrzej P. WIERZBICKI (Poland) Decision Theory & Knowledge Science
  29. Jiuping XU (China) Systems Engineering, Management Science & Engineering
  30. Rainer E. ZIMMERMANN (Germany) Philosopher & Designer

Pierre Bricage
Secretar General of IASCYS
(Vienna , April 13th, 2012)

| Category: IASCYS